United Kingdom Knowledge Organiser Y1 Term Summer 1 What countries make up the UK and where do we live within it?



Our Weather

The weather in the United
Kingdom can change from day
to day. The four scasons have
particular weather patterns.
You could keep a weather diary
by measuring the temperature
(using a thermometer) and
recording your observations.



- 1. The United Kingdom is make up of four countries (England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland).
- 2. The capital city of England is London.
- 3. The capital city of Scotland is Edinburgh.
- 4. The capital city of Wales is Cardiff.
- 5. The capital city of Northern Ireland is Belfast.
- 6. The seas around the UK are called the Atlantic Ocean, the North Sea, the Irish Sea and the English Channel.

VOCABULARY	
Country	An area of land with its own government and borders.
Capital city	The main city in a country, usually where the government is located.
City	A large group of houses, shops and other buildings where people live and work. A city usually has a cathedral.
Island	An area of land surrounded by water.
Sea	A large area of salty water around the land.
Human feature	Something made by people eg. roads, buildings.
Physical feature	Something made by nature eg. river, mountain.
Seasons	The year is divided into four seasons: spring, summer, autumn and winter.